PM Modi to award winners of Singapore-India Hackathon on November 15 in Singapore

Date: 12 Nov 2018

PM Modi will present awards to the winning teams of the India Singapore Hackathon 2018: Solutions for Humanity, on 15 November.

During his Singapore visit, earlier in the year, Prime Minister of India Narendra Modi, proposed to the Singapore Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong that India and Singapore should organise a joint hackathon to harness and showcase the "innovation potential" of youth. 

Leading to Nanyang Technological University's(NTU) innovation and enterprise arm, NTUitive taking the charge of organising the joint hackathon aptly called the India Singapore Hackathon 2018: Solutions for Humanity, with India's All India Council for Technical Education (AICTE) as equal partners.

High Commission of India in Singapore facilitated the event in collaboration with Ministries of Education and Foreign Affairs of Singapore.

Students taking part in the India Singapore Hackathon 2018: Solutions for Humanity Photo courtesy: High Commission of India, Singapore

The 36 - hour hackathon began today at 09.00 am at NTU, which will end on 13 November at 9.00 pm. 20 teams each from both countries comprising university and college students selected on nationwide basis are participating in the Hackathon. Each of these teams has three students and one dedicated mentor. From India, an 83 member delegation, comprising 60 students, 20 mentors and 3 officials of AICTE, is visiting Singapore for the Hackathon.

The Problem Statements presented to the Participants are in the areas of mapping, synchronised output of diverse social media, shared digital identity verification, effective number estimate, space management and allotment, effective learning and personal security. These Problem Statements are based on campus scenarios which students can easily relate to. The solutions will act as seeds to address larger problems in these areas in society. 

On 14 November, top six teams (three each from India and Singapore) will be announced after a final pitching session. First prize of S$ 10,000, second prize of S$6,000 and third prize of S$4,000 have been announced for each of the three winners from India and Singapore.


Also featured in: